A CHARGER FUELED BY THE SUN

A cloudless day. This New Mexico day is perfect if you don’t have to work outdoors in it. Time to lay out all my solar stuff and top them off. Had a device I wanted to use which I hadn’t used before. Got it from the big A online store. Yes, you may have noticed I don’t use the names of the big box stores. I’m not willing to give them free advertising.

I use rechargeable batteries in my GPS. Got em out and shoved them in the slots of a USB AA-AAA charger. The USB end went neatly into my little 15-watt Ravpower portable solar panel. Stuck a narrow strip of lumber underneath to tilt the panel slightly and tucked the charger under the panel to keep it cool.

After eight hours of sitting in the sun, I didn’t know if the batteries were topped off so stuck them in the house charger. They charged for another four hours. I’ll need a couple more experiences to figure out how long it takes to fully charge batteries.

About trekkingtess

Retired Industrial Arts and middle school computer teacher. Escaped Texas for the peace and quiet of New Mexico.
This entry was posted in Electronics, Solar. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A CHARGER FUELED BY THE SUN

  1. Barney Ward says:

    The size of your receiving panel is the trouble with the charging. Just not enough watts for the job to get done in a reasonable time frame to me. I have had folks tap into my solar set up and charge little users like in your blog in about twenty minutes.

    Like

Comments are closed.