ADJUSTING MY CIRCADIAN RHYTHM

In the winter of 2019-20 I developed the pattern of staying up late watching TV, writing, reading, and surfing the internet.  Midnight, sometimes later.  Sleep until 9am.  By the time I dragged outta bed, it felt like half the day was over.  I shook my head perplexed.  How did I ever go to bed at 10 and wake up at 5:30 since I was 6 years old? 

I slept fine until menopause.  Then came the night sweats and getting up to potty multiple times a night. 

I’ve been trying to reverse the stay up late/rise late trend without much luck.  Turn off the laptop at 10.  Read paperback books.  Blackout curtains.  No caffeine.  Think pleasant thoughts.  Ignore sometimes snoring dog.  Yeah, those last two are tough. 

This woman slept outside for a week and it seemed to reset her inner clock. 

I Slept Outside for a Week and it Changed My Life by Erin Berger.  Maybe I need to try it.

Hey Barney.  Your artwork Rainbow Chin Cactus is excellent.  It’s obvious you are steadily improving at your art skills.

 

About trekkingtess

Retired Industrial Arts and middle school computer teacher. Escaped Texas for the peace and quiet of New Mexico.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ADJUSTING MY CIRCADIAN RHYTHM

  1. Barney Ward says:

    Thank you very much. It is likely to dive down soon as I start a new set of lessons on painting but it is fun.
    I adjust my body clock by setting an alarm clock to wake me and get up at the proper time to be tired or sleepy at the right time.

    Like

  2. trekkingtess says:

    A clock sounds not nearly as much fun as escaping to a camping spot for a week.

    Like

  3. Barney Ward says:

    I am already camping 24/7/52 so I had to come up with something else for me when I get “out of rhythm”..

    Like

Comments are closed.