DEATH OF THE NEXUS 7 FIRST GEN

Margo’s face told me she was going to tell me something unpleasant.  She pulled her hand from behind her back and handed me my Nexus.  Hours ago I had plugged it in and laid it on the travel trailer sofa armrest.  Now, I’m looking at a screen with a starry thousand cracks in it.  She had pinched it in the sofa scissor mechanism.

The touch screen refused every command.  It wouldn’t turn off.  I was very happy that I hadn’t put anything vitally important on it.

It was a flawed yet awesome mini tablet, and I’d resisted the urge to upgrade it even when I could slow eat a sandwich while waiting for it to load.  Lately, it was taking 16 seconds of holding the power button in before turning on.  And that’s on a lucky day.  It was so old that I started downloading travel apps without fear of damaging the device.  It got even slower.  But it made a great e-reader and white noise music player.

Margo was upset that she killed my device.  I shrugged and admitted I was going to upgrade soon.  Darn, my lack of negotiating skills.  I should a gone all dramatic.  Tears and squeals.  Coulda gotten her to buy me a new device.  Guess I’ll buy me a new one, but gosh I hate to do the research.  I’d buy the same Nexus 7 if it were faster and had more memory.  The second generation Nexus 7 fits the bill, but I’m not going to spend over $300 for a device with five year old technology.

I’ll do something eventually, so I’ll have something to take on trips.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Electronics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

