GOSH IT IS HOT, JUNE 21-24, 2017

Whoo-wheee.  It is hot out there.  Frying eggs on the sidewalk kind of hot.  Newscasters are calling it extreme and brutal.  I do all my outside stuff early and hole up, but I still sweat like a piglet.  I feel sorry for anyone who has to be in the sun.  I got tired of sweating and went down to spend a couple of days with Margo.  It seems counterproductive to go to the basin since it is much hotter there than in the mountains.  But she has air conditioning.  We just have to sit tight and survive to the weekend.  I wish this father and son had waited.

Let me give you an idea of the Basin heat.  One day it topped out at 118 according to her digital indoor/outdoor thermometer.  At 6:00 pm on the 23rd it was 103 degrees.  Down from 112.  At temperatures like this I don’t know if I could drink enough to keep me hydrated if I were outside.  I can say at least one good thing about the heat.  It builds clouds over the mountains and if we are lucky, a cooling storm will slide over the top of us.  That happened last night.  62 degrees.  I put on warmups.  Now I feel sorry for the visitors in the mountains who probably didn’t bring anything to keep them warm.

Gardens — even those that get daily waterings — are cooking.  Margo’s corn looks like someone took a flame thrower to it.  The grass crunches beneath our feet.  We try to stay off of it.  I tell the plants, hang in there.  Only another week of June and then the temperatures start to go down.

I’ve been staring at the monthly historical weather.  July goes down one degree in the daily average high, but it goes up two on average daily low.  So it’s kind of a mixed bag.

Come on monsoon.

This entry was posted in Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

