SLEEPING PAD FOR TENT CAMPING

Boy, oh boy, did I learn all about sleeping bag compression last fall.  I had gone to Lake Roberts in southwestern New Mexico within the lovely Gila National Forest.  Took an old tent Margo acquired at an auction.  With two monster sleeping bags below me I thought I was in high cotton.  Fifteen minutes later my abundant body parts had squished the sleeping bags to micro thinness.  It was if I had nothing below me.   How can that be?  I carry my own fluffiness.  So I put on every item of clothes I brought.  Thought marshmallows.  Didn’t help.  I was cold and uncomfortable all night.

I happily got up before dawn which made me look like a bada** fisherman.  It’s weird to be the first person awake in a campground, and I tried to be as quiet as possible.  Under the beacon of my solar lantern, I boiled water for hot tea.  I slurped it empty before I could see my hand in front of my face.

sleeping-bag-pad-expanded-2017-feb-26

So I would never be in that painful predicament again, I bought a sleeping pad.  More than I wanted to pay, but I refused to go cheap on an item which suspends me over a hard surface.  A Therm-A-Rest.  It’s a bit too long, but I only had two choices: 48″ or 77″.  I got the 77″ because I couldn’t imagine my heels laying on hard ground.  It’s wide enough that I can curl up.  It will puff to an awesome 1-1/2″ thick when blown up.

I blew it up and laid my sleeping bag and myself on it in the living room while watching TV.  It is so much better than hard ground.  I envisioned a much, much more enjoyable return trip to Lake Roberts.

I guess I could try sleeping on the floor tonight, but darn it, I find the occasional scorpion on the floor.  Lordy knows there are none in the great outdoors.  At least not the way I zip up my tent.

sleeping-bag-pad-flat-2017-feb-26Here the pad is empty of air.  I know.  It looks pretty unappealing, but don’t let that fool ya.  It packs nicely.  It rolls into a bag smaller than a medium sleeping bag.  I opened the two valves at the corners and it mostly blew itself up.  I did have to give it 15 good breaths or so to plump it up.  Advertisement say five puffs.  In y’alls dreams.

Instructions say to store it inflated.  Not many places in this house where such a large item can go.  Stuck it between a window and desk.

Glad I don’t have a cat.

 

This entry was posted in Camping, Fishing, New Mexico, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

