WELL THAT CAMPER VAN PURCHASE WAS A BUST

I’ve been looking for a camper van for about two years.  Decent ones are expensive so I waited until an older one in fairly good shape sorta fell out of the sky.

I met the owner at a restaurant and we took a 1995 camper van for a drive.  It drove well.  Stopped on a dime.

camper van 2017 april 26Then the next day I went to the owner’s house and did a very thorough inspection.  Took hours.  Everything worked so well it was scary.  I crawled underneath.  Oops, slight oil leak somewhere.  Leak around the differential too.  Some rust.  The van spent most of it’s life in Florida so I wasn’t surprised.  What I was surprised by was I could only find one rust spot on the exterior.

The next day I had an insurance quote, an early morning appointment with a trusted mechanic on Thursday, printed off the Bill of Sale form, contacted the DVM for a “NM” on the title which meant “Not actual miles”.  Maintenance records showed a succession of mileage so I figured it was a paperwork mistake which unfortunately can never be removed.

That afternoon I let myself get a little excited.  If all went well in the $163 inspection tomorrow, this baby would be mine.  I started dreaming.  Yeah, baby.  I’d need to add a backup camera, get the belts and hoses changed, clean the interior.  The first trip would be to the mountains where I’d stay a couple of days, just me and HappyDog.

Late that evening I get the text message.  So sorry, van has been sold.

Ya win some, ya lose some.  Back to the old looking board.

This entry was posted in Camper Van, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

