WINTERIZING THE CITY HOOKUP WATER LINES ON THE TRAVEL TRAILER

I wrote this not long after we got the travel trailer.  Not sure how I missed posting it…

Do not think I am some sort of a plumbing expert.  The following is what I did to winterize the travel trailer.  You might have to do something entirely different.

We’ve had the trailer for five months.  The first thing I had to do was work on the caulking.  The second thing was to winterize it.  We have it relatively easy.  One bath.  No ice maker.  No washing machine.  We live in an area which doesn’t freeze often or very deeply.

I was right there, right bloomin’ there when the dealership’s technician blitzed through the winterizing steps.  He took off two panels and gave a three second discourse on what valves to turn which way — There were 300)– (Alright, there were three, but it looked like more).

Then he tt-behind-water-panel-2016disconnected a line in this area, stuck a tube into a bottle of pink RV antifreeze and another in or on trailer tubing, turned on the water pump, and pink RV antifreeze sucked through the lines without going through the hot water heater or the fresh water tank.

I went to two businesses and bought the wrong size tubing and coupler for the line.  Returned it all and tried again.  Then I decided to go in another direction.  Ya see, it’s this way —

Margo expects to be in the trailer at least 10 days a month, sometimes more.  If I winterize the trailer with antifreeze every time we, or she, gets back from a trip, we will be buying lots of gallons of RV antifreeze.  I’ve been told the RV pink stuff is not toxic.  Yeah, I believe that like I want a hole in the head.   So I went in a new direction.

I watched a half dozen videos where the presenters used compressed air to blow out the lines.  I appreciated Mike Wendland’s video uses compressed air and RV antifreeze.  I’m liking that way.  I already have an air compressor.  Did my little tank air compressor have a pressure regulator on it?  Yes, it did, so I can adjust the pressure to less than 30 psi.

I wrote down the steps to winterize.   Nothing confusing about it.  I aired the tank at home.  Bought a blow out plug to screw into the city/park water inlet on the travel trailer.

Then I proceeded to put some miles on my feet because I was working by myself.  Opened a single faucet/valve, set the camera to record video so I can see if it blows clear, went outside around to the back, pressed the air chuck to the blow out plug until gurgling sound went away.  Went indoors and turned off camera.  Watched video to see if the line blew clear.  Turned off faucet/valve.  Moved to next faucet/valve.  Repeat again and again.  I used a heavy stabilizer bar to weigh down the toilet foot bar to clear that line.  Finished up by pouring pink RV antifreeze in the drains and toilet.

My air compressor with the cute little pancake tank, has about the volume of a loaf of bread.  The whole thing almost fits in a backpack.  The storage facility guy let me use his electricity to fill it twice more.   Might have done it with one tankful if I had a helper inside to watch the sputtering.

tt-lowest-point-drainAfter blowing everything out, I unscrewed the plug on the hot water heater and pulled up the relief valve.  Nothing comes rushing out.  It’s empty.  I also fiddled with an outside valve hanging down below the onboard water tank inlet which I assume to be the lowest point drain of the fresh water tank.  No water pours out no matter how I turn it.  It must be empty.

Crossing my fingers that trailer is properly winterized.  A commentor on yt says that by doing it my way I haven’t protected the water pump.  Something about a check valve keeps me from blowing all the water out of the pump.  I’ll have to look into this before next winter.  Wonder where the water pump is?

Timing may be everything on this.  We can do the blowing out at the campground before we leave.  There’s electricity right there and we can dump the tanks before we leave.

Sometimes soon we need to add fresh water to the tank to clean it.  And make hot water.  And take a shower.   Whew!  Learning never ends.

This entry was posted in Campgrounds, Electronics, Modifications, Tools, Travel Trailer, Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

