GEOCACHES ON THE FIRST GENERATION NEXUS 7

geocaches cabello lake 2017 mar 10

I started geocaching after I retired.  Hiking, sight seeing, GPS skills practice, and the childhood joy of hunting Easter eggs all rolled into one.  Here’s the Wikipedia data on the sport.  I introduced Margo to the sport.  Bar none, Margo is the most determined geocacher on the planet.  I take extra food and water because once I’ve told her the general area of a cache, we are going to be there until she finds it.  She’s faster than me too.  Irritatingly luckier too.

Usually the closer you are to people the more geocaches there are.  For example, Alamogordo, NM has over a thousand geocaches.  Caballo Lake, as you can see here, has almost none.  Of those, I’m guessing that those in the mountains are awful hard to get to.

geocaches elephant butte 2017 mar 10

Elephant Butte has a handful.  One of the rules of geocaching is to care for the geocache after hiding it.  Probably why there are so few around Caballo and Elephant Butte.

It’s an odd feeling to look at the map after I’ve been somewhere and find that I had almost stepped on a geocache and never saw it.

Now that it’s spring, the snow is gone and the blood is warming, it’s time to go huntin’ geocaches again.

These screenshots came off my Nexus 7 First Generation using the app c:geo which I got for free from Google Play.  Click on a little icon and all the ngeo cache detail 2017 apr 10data comes up about the cache.  I pay particular attention to the difficulty and terrain.  Difficulty is how hard it is to find the cache and sign the logbook; terrain is how hard it is to get to the coordinates. Here’s more information on that.

ngeo cache description 2017 apr 10

Click on ‘More details’ and you see information that the cache owner has typed in.  Sometimes you learn history.  Sometimes they might be a tad bit long winded.

ngeo cache log 2017 apr 10

Finally, click on ‘Log’ and you see the geocachers who have found the cache before you.  I go to log when I’m having a hard time finding a cache.  A previous logger might admit that they had to replant it nearby after a bear ripped the lid off or it hasn’t been found for the last six months which means it’s probably missing.

With all that data at your fingertips, how can one not find a cache?

I admit, it’s pretty darn easy to not find ’em.

We are soon to be on our way to our next campground.  If I remember, I’ll take some photos of the geocaches we find.

This entry was posted in Electronics, Geocaching, New Mexico, Tools and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

