CAUGHT A NASTY, AWFUL, REVOLTING BUG

Glad I wasn’t traveling when I got the whatever-it-was bug.  It was one of those ‘should I face the toilet or face away’ types.  I didn’t want to have to clean up a mistake so put a bucket in the bathroom.  (Uh-oh, thought of the splash effect.  No, not that short bucket with sloping sides.  I want this one, deep and straight sides.)   If I wasn’t running to the bathroom I was curled in a fetal position and shaking like I’d been to a scary movie.  My gut screamed at me.  My joints felt like they were being pulled out of their sockets.  The only part of me that didn’t hurt was my soles.  They wanted to leave the rest of my body.

I was thankful that this is the first time I’ve been horribly sick in five years.

I was getting dehydrated and my cupboard was empty of sports drinks.  I called a neighbor and asked them to bring me one –  (No don’t come in.  Just leave it at the gate.)  So happy he brought it up on the porch.  Not sure I could have made the four steps down and back up.  It was odd how I could keep down the sports drink but not water.  Maybe I was just done upchucking before I drank the sports drink.  Webmd isn’t too keen on sports drinks.  I noticed that my local super store has moved their electrolyte drinks to the center aisle.  Never occurred to me that this was a bad omen.

I took my temperature.  98.6!  How could I be this sick and not have the end of the thermometer explode like a wascally wabbit cartoon?

Twelve hours later I knew I was going to live.  Twenty-four hours later I knew I was going to be okay and took a walk to massage my innards and absorb some sunshine.  Thirty-six hours later I felt like I’d never been sick.

Could Margo and I survive such an event in a travel trailer?  Yes, without a doubt.  Would it be uncomfortable?  You bet.  Would the other disappear to give the bathroom overtaker some privacy?  Absolutely.

What would we need to have on hand before it happened?

  • a non shallow bucket or pan, the straighter the sides the better.
  • liquids to prevent dehydration.  Webmd suggestions.
  • thermometer
  • pain killers
  • disinfectant wipes or spray
  • nibbles like crackers, bananas, rice, applesauce, toast
  • a significant other nearby to buoy your spirits.

Tips for Coping With Being Sick on the Road from a trucking site.  Got anything y’all would like to add?

If you get online and search for stories of being ill on the road, you will immediately feel better.  Might even laugh a little.  If you have Netflix, I suggest Grace and Frankie, season 3, episode 7, The Floor.  If that doesn’t make you laugh, you might be dead.

This entry was posted in Safety. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

