DOWNLOADING OFFLINE GOOGLE MAPS AREAS TO NEXUS 7 FIRST GENERATION

I found an awesome tip that makes going into dead zones not so bad.  I download offline Google Maps onto my first generation Nexus 7 using my home wi-fi.  It saved my bacon last fall when I went to Lake Roberts in southwest New Mexico.  Couldn’t find the road to get down to the lake, so I opened the offline loaded image and found the boat ramp road.

Here’s what I did to get the data to my Nexus…

cabello lake map view 2017 mar 10

Open Google Maps.  Find the area I want to capture.  I’m doing Caballo Lake in NM.

 

cabello lake offline areas 2017 mar 10

On the left hand menu I choose “Offline areas”.  If the menu isn’t there, swipe your finger across from the edge.

cabello lake download custom area 2017 mar 10

Next I chose “Custom area”.

cabello lake download this area 2017 mar 10

Move the blue box to enclose the area needed then press “Download”.

The 12 MB download expires in one month unless it’s updated.

It doesn’t do the street view, just the map and satellite views.

At this moment I can’t remember if, when in offline mode, Google Maps pinpoints where the Nexus and I are located.  I think it does.

This entry was posted in Driving, Electronics, New Mexico, Roads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

