E-READING WHILE CAMPING

My Brother-in-Law gave me a 2012 first generation Nexus 7 a couple of years ago.  It’s 5 years old and probably near the end of it’s viability. Because of it’s age, it’s best talent is teaching me patience as it loads and updates.

There are some things it still does well.  nexus book view bluefilter 2017 mar 10It is an awesome ereader platform.  I’ve got Moon+ Reader, Play Books and Kindle.  The lettering is stunningly crisp, the colors deep and bright, and it somehow knows to switch over to the night mode (Seen at left).  If you don’t want to switch to night mode, you can just lower the screen brightness.  I can change the font size, the spacing, and the margins to make it even easier to read. It doesn’t need another light to read by, unlike my Kindle Touch.

Last fall, while I was tenting, I read for five-six hours and used only 20 percent of the battery.  It’s easy to charge using my portable solar charger or battery pack.

I’m cheap, so I borrow books electronically from my local library and get classic books from free sites.  Now that I’m retired I have time to read all the classics I didn’t get to when I was young.  What are the classics you ask?  Top 100 EBooks on Gutenberg.  List ranked as yesterday or 7 days.  Authors too.  By the way, if you haven’t perused Project Gutenberg, you are missing something special.

There’s other things this puppy does well and I’ll tell you about them in future posts.

This entry was posted in Electronics, Hobbies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

