THE MOST IMPORTANT TOOL I OWN, MY LEATHERMAN KICK MULTI-TOOL

I’ve carried a pocket knife since I was knee high to a grasshopper.  You could still carry pocket knives in school back then because a Tyrannosaurus Rex might attack on the 12-mile walk through the snow.

I moved up to a locking pocket knife after I cut the heck out of myself when the blade closed unexpectedly.

And then 20 years or so ago a friend slide a little box over to me and said “Happy Birthday”.  It was a stainless steel, lightweight Leatherman Kick Multi-tool.  It was so durn purty.  Then I had a chance to use it.  And use it.  And use it.  At night it goes on the left front edge of the nightstand.  In the morning I grab my Kick and drop it into the left front pocket of whatever I’m wearing.  I admit when I’m in my jammies, I still drop it in the left pocket.  When I reach for it in my pocket and it’s not there, I react like I’ve been shot in my left leg.  You don’t want to be in my house when I’ve misplaced it.  I’ll tear the property apart until I find it, complete with lots of curses and crying.  On the day I die, some Medical Examiner is going to be going through my pockets and deadpan, “Left front pocket, Leatherman Kick.  Niiiiiice”.

It followed me to work.  Came in mighty handy when I needed to open computer cases or open packing boxes.  Used it at Caballo Lake Campground to open a bottle of beer and remove the tamper-proof thingie under the milk jug lid.  It was the backup can opener.  The needle nose pliers were indispensable for bending the end of the wire holding my rabbit cages together so the rabbits wouldn’t get impaled.  Cashier’s eyes sorta bug out of their heads when they ask for my ID and I whip out my Kick.  I guess I should tell them ahead of time that it is perfect for pulling my ID out of the tight wallet holder. And something I swear I don’t do very often, it’s great at pulling the metal tab on the wine bottle capsule.  (Bumped into this very educational wine site – with pictures and charts – while trying to find capsule.)

The only time I do not carry it is when I’m going to go through a metal detector.

It has 12 tools:

  • Needlenose Pliers
  • Regular Pliers
  • Hard-wire Cutters
  • Wire Cutters
  • Wire Stripper
  • 420HC Blade
  • Ruler (8 in | 19 cm)
  • Can Opener
  • Bottle Opener
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Large Screwdriver
  • Small Screwdriver

kick 2017 mar 23The fairly long, single blade is very sharp.  Be-careful-when-you-open-it sharp.   I abuse the hell out of that edge and after a couple of strops on a very fine diamond hone it’s back to scary sharp.

The wire cutter, squeezed by my mature hands, won’t cut a double stranded, barbed wire, but it works well for everything less.

On YT The Late Boy Scout has a nice 10:41 review on the Kick.  At 5:46 he shows me a tool I didn’t even know I had.

Love, love, love my Kick.  Sadly, it looks like they aren’t making it anymore.  I’d better not lose this one.

This entry was posted in Tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

