ELEPHANT BUTTE LAKE STATE PARK, FEB. 22, 2017

Location: Elephant Butte Lake State Park, Elephant Butte, New Mexico

A pretty good nights sleep.  I’ll be saying more on that in a later post.

The neighbors pull out.  They’ve got the packing down to an art.  I watch him set the receiver on the hitch and the back of the truck went down a measly two inches.  With that load!  Amazing.  I’m going to have to look at those Torklift StableLoads.

Today I go fishing.  On the suggestion from one of the marina fellas, I went down to Rattlesnake Island to fish spinners on the white gravel areas.  Got everything ready and checked my fishing vest left top pocket for my fishing license.  It’s missing.  I tear apart all my fishing gear.  No joy.  I am clueless as to where it might be.  This is a sign from above or below or some place in between that I should just run around.  I go hang out at the marina and talk to the fishermen.  Nobody’s catching nuttin.  One fella is fishing off the end of the marina in 45 feet.  He’s using hot dogs on the bottom hoping to latch onto a blue or channel cat.  Ooh.  Them’s good eatin’.  He admitted that when he was there a couple of days before he was using little breakfast links and when he didn’t catch anything he ate the links.

According to this article there might be more than fish down there.  I wouldn’t have liked to pull one of those out.

A photographer with a lens that required strong arms was taking photos of western grebes.

I returned to the trailer.  Margo yells she heard geese.  Sure nuff.  A big flock was circling overhead.  There were also two osprey floating about.  Never did see them dive.  Reminded me we had gotten used to seeing seagulls.  Yes, seagulls in the middle of the desert.  Kinda tilts the brain a bit, don’t it.

We took turns going over to the rest rooms and taking a shower.  Push a button and you get somewhat warm water for maybe two minutes.  Need more?  Press the button again.

Another windy evening so no fire ring fire.  It’s a shame we have to go home tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Campgrounds, Fishing, New Mexico, Travel Trailer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

